Recipes

Take Curry & Don’t Worry

For the sake of transparency, I have to admit that I totally ripped off the title of this post from my favorite Curry spice blend.  Before I moved to Camp Pendleton, while I was still living in my hometown of Memphis, Tennessee I was part of a CSA (community supported agriculture) from a local farm. As part of my weekly supply, I would sometimes get these amazing spice blends from a company called the Flavor Mavens that were located out of Olive Branch, Mississippi. I love their herbs and spices because not only are they flavorful and help make food taste even better, but the folks over there also work hard to source their products responsibly and use the best methods to create their blends.

“All ingredients are grown chemically free and harvested sustainable and traceable”

-Flavor Mavens Website

Sadly, I used the last bit of my “Take Curry & Don’t Worry” blend to make this recipe for y’all. I love Curry. And this is definitely a version/loose interpretation of Curry that I make pretty regularly. I am still working on improving it and trying different techniques and ingredients each time I make it. But, this stuff is pretty darn good if I do say so myself. And, also, super easy to whip together for a quick, healthy weeknight dinner. And, yes, Curry is super healthy. It’s very rich and flavorful, so that might be hard to believe but the spices used to create curry powder have some amazing health benefits. The spices used in my particular batch of curry powder are: Turmeric, Ginger, Nutmeg, True Cinnamon, Cardamom, Cloves, Poppy Seeds,  Cayenne Pepper, Coriander, Cumin, Fennel, Anise, Fenugreek Seeds, Yellow and Brown Mustard Seeds, and White and Black Peppercorn. Gee dang, that’s a lot of flavor. 

IMG_2634

I absolutely love the idea of using food as medicine. Because it really is. The food you eat can make you feel better or worse depending on what you eat. It’s so important. And these spices have some incredible healing powers. Turmeric, ginger, cinnamon and cayenne pepper can all be used to help protect you from the cold and flu. Turmeric, ginger and cinnamon are all anti-inflammatory and those first two are also anti-oxidants. Cayenne pepper can actually help ya out if you are having problems with a stuffy nose. It contains capsaicin which can help thin out mucous. I don’t know about you, but I find that incredibly fascinating. Cloves and cayenne can also help soothe sore throats. And considering we are in prime time for catching these ailments I say bring on the Curry!! Then you won’t have to worry so much about getting sick. Hey, maybe that’s why they call it Take Curry & Don’t Worry?! Why, how clever.

This recipe is also incredibly simple and versatile. You can change up the type of protein you use (today I’m using shrimp). You can stick with your favorite veggies or use this as an opportunity to try something new. This is also a dish that can be adapted to fit vegetarian and vegan diets super easily so it pleases the masses. I like it best served over white rice, but once again this is totally optional and can be left out or switched out for something else.  The veggies I have used in this recipe are not traditional for curry, but it is what I had on hand. Being flexible is an important part of cooking healthy meals. Not everything has to be precise and the exact way a recipe reads (except for when baking – that’s a whole different ball game). As long as you have all that great, fresh healthy food you’re good to go. No need to make eating a real food diet stressful! It is also super fun to create your own spin on things. Seriously, healthy eating and cooking can be fun and also really easy. Whodathunk. So, here’s what went in mine…

What you need:

  • 1 lb Shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 Can (13.5 fl oz) Coconut Milk
  • 1 small head of Broccoli
  • 1/2 Bell Pepper
  • 1/2 Yellow Onion
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • About 1/2 pound Cabbage
  • About 1/4 pound Mushroom
  • 1.5-2 tbsp Curry Powder
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 2 tbsp Coconut Oil or Ghee

What you do:

  1. Put the coconut oil or ghee into a large skillet over medium low heat
  2. Add diced onion and sprinkle with salt. Move around frequently so it does not brown
  3. Add chopped up broccoli and cabbage to the pan and sauté.
  4. After about 3 or so minutes add in the mushrooms, garlic, and bell pepper. Cook until tender and all veggies are cooked through  IMG_2633.jpg
  5. Add shrimp and mix around.
  6. Sprinkle curry powder, salt and pepper and mix to incorporate
  7. Pour in coconut milk and mix it up.
  8. Cook until shrimp are pink, about three to four minutes.
  9. Enjoy all on its own or pour over white rice, cauli rice, potatoes, quinoa…whatever tickles your fancy.

FullSizeRender

Easy peasy lemon squeezey. A pretty quick, very delicious dinner that can help you combat the cold and flu season. Enjoy and stay well!

 

Leave a Reply

